Those that know me well enough know that I love Warhammer: Vermintide 2 quite a lot. And if any of you are fans out there, it’s really surprising just how much fun Chaos Wastes is. But I digress. When the team behind said title announced Warhammer 40000: Darktide, I was ecstatic to see its release later this year. The first-person shooter looks like a ton of fun which, when combined with systems like Vermintide 2, could bring something unique to the table. Thanks to today’s news though, it looks like we’ll have to wait just a bit longer. Fatshark has today announced that Warhammer 40000: Darktide has been delayed to Spring of 2022.

An update on Darktide’s launch window pic.twitter.com/kY0GjmpZuu

— Warhammer 40,000: Darktide (@Darktide40K) July 15, 2021

As far as their reasoning for the delay, Fatshark had this to say in a statement:

While this is a deep shame and I’m saddened to hear about the delay, I believe that for Warhammer 40000: Darktide, it does make sense. With many releases these days showing in an utterly broken state, taking extra time to ensure a smooth and acceptable release is not unwelcome. While I might be excited, I’m willing to wait that extra time to ensure what I play is of the same quality as Vermintide. That, and I admittedly expected it when the team didn’t have a proper release window at E3 outside of the new writer reveal.